Back to 1981/2 season

All Sweet Things (Joe Jackson, Sept.25th,1981)

FallaNight in the Gardens of Spain
DebussyLa Mer
TelemannViola Concerto

NOTE: The above does not represent the complete programme, nor did the items appear in that order. This was one of those rare instances in which we had advanced details of what was to be played, the three works listed being mentioned on the membership card. If this had became standard practice it could attract either a larger audience ("That sounds nice; I'll make sure I go.") or a smaller one ("Ooh, I don't care for the sound of that!"). It would, of course, require a much bigger membership card to accommodate all the extra information. Attempts were made in the '50s to get people to give advance notice of programme contents but the idea was soon abandoned.