Back to 2010/11 season

Interlude in Leipzig (Bill Broughton, Oct.22nd,2006)

BachMotet "Singet dem Herren ein neues Lied", BVW225
Motet "Ich habe genug",BVW82)
BachAnna Magdalena book (extract)
MendelssohnSymphony No.3 (mvts. 3 and 4) *
MendelssohnOverture "The Hebrides" *
A celebration of Scotlandextract
Mendelssohnchamber music (extract)
BachOrgan works (3 extracts)
BachChristmas Oratorio (opening chorus)

Although Bill assisted in the preparation of this programme it was wholly presented (and very ably presented) by his grand-daughter Jenna. He had taken her to Leipzig to a festival celebrating the music of J.S.Bach and Mendelssohn. This programme features some of the works they heard.

* These two works were extensively revised by Mendelssohn before reaching the form in which they are now familiar. In this programme we heard them in their original versions. The differences in the the Symphony aren't vast, although there are several moments of the finale which come as a surprise to anyone who knows the symphony well in its revised version. The overture, however, is very different indeed - and much longer - than the one we know.